
 

Exemption (Out of State) – Rev. 8-2016 

OUT-OF-STATE EXEMPTION 
                                                        Application for Arizona registered vehicles located out-of-state 

  
Application must be completed in its entirety in order to be processed, if not, application will be returned 

  
Vehicle Identification Information 

Make: Model: Year: VIN: 

License Plate: State: Registration Month: 

Registered to: E-mail address: � Check box if you would like Exemption Emailed to you. 

AZ Registration Address (no Post Office boxes): Out of State physical address: 

City: City: Telephone number: 

State, Zip: State, Zip: 

 
Your Arizona registration may be renewed up to 90 days prior to expiration. If your vehicle is in an area that requires an emission test 
for renewal, and your vehicle will be out of state during or after that 90 day period, you may request a testing exemption from ADEQ. 
  
A. If your vehicle is located in an area that has an emission inspection program, you must have the vehicle tested there and 

submit a passing Vehicle Inspection Report. This is an official document issued by the inspection authority, and must 
indicate the agency issuing the document. 

B. If your vehicle that requires testing is NOT in an area of another state that has an emission inspection program, you must 
complete the Vehicle Identification Information, Signature and have the Out-Of-State Verification section of this form 
completed by a local law enforcement official (campus police, military police/base security) or Department of Motor Vehicles 
official in that state. 

 
Signature 

 I certify that the information contained in the above Vehicle Identification Information section is complete and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge and is made under penalty of perjury. 

 Signature of Owner/Operator: Date: 

Out-Of-State Verification (needed ONLY if a Vehicle Inspection Report is NOT submitted) 
To obtain an exemption from emissions testing, Arizona law requires that the owner have a local law enforcement official or Department of 
Motor Vehicle official verify that the vehicle described hereon is at the city/state claimed above. 
 I verify that the vehicle described above is currently located in the above listed city/state. 
Signature: Date: 

Agency: Telephone Number: 

Name: Badge Number: 

 
Please send this form with the following to the appropriate address below: 
1) A passing Vehicle Inspection Report (if applicable), OR  completed Out-Of-State Application.  
2) Processing  fee of $9.50 (check/money order payable to ADEQ, check must show the imprinted name and physical 

address of the customer – no post office boxes),  
3) A copy of the Arizona registration renewal form or vehicle title/ bill of sale, and  
4) A self-addressed/stamped envelope. (If you would like certificate sent back to you) 

Send to: 
  Vehicle Emissions Control Section                            or                   Vehicle Emissions Control Section 

	 1110 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007        4040 E. 29th Street, Tucson, AZ 85711 
 602-771-3950    FAX: 602-207-7020         520-628-5651   FAX: 520-628-6139  
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