

The following screens will help you prepare for your upcoming test.

Please read through the information on each screen and click CONTINUE.

This training section covers Area A (Metro Phoenix) information for Fleet Station personnel.



Section 1: Fleet Station Permit Requirements

To be a eligible for a Fleet Station Permit in Area A, you must:

1. Be located in "Area A"

Dealer fleets located within 50 miles of Area A's outer boundary may qualify for a fleet permit if they can certify that their primary source of business is from customers who live in Area A.

- 2. Exclusively own or lease at least 25 non-exempt vehicles
- 3. Have space dedicated to repairing and maintaining at least one fleet vehicle
- 4. Employ a Fleet Agent in charge of day-to-day operations
- 5. Employ a License-Certified Inspections Technician (Inspector)
- 6. Own or lease equipment that is registered with ADEQ to perform all aspects of the required inspection
- 7. Agree to provide data to ADEQ as prescribed by the ADEQ Director



Section 1: Fleet Station Permit Requirements

Fleet Station Permits do not expire, but can be:

- Suspended
- Revoked
- Subject to Civil Penalties

when a permit holder:

- 1. Violates any provision of Arizona Revised Statutes or Arizona Administrative Code
- 2. Obtains the permit by misrepresenting facts
- 3. Fails to make, keep or submit records to ADEQ
- 4. Fails to provide a State Inspector access to information required by law



Section 1: Study Questions

Please read and select an answer for each question and then click CONTINUE.

Q1. Fleet emissions inspections must cease/stop if the following occurs:

- A. The fleet agent and/or the only fleet inspector resigns/quits
- B. The fleet agent is on vacation, calls in sick or is not at the Fleet Station
- C. The fleet station fails its annual audit
- D. Any of the above occurs

Q2. When does a Fleet Station Permit expire?

- A. Permit is renewed annually within 30 days of permit expiration
- B. Permit is renewed annually within 60 days of permit expiration
- C. Permit is renewed annually within 90 days of permit expiration
- D. None of the above A Fleet Sation Permit never expires

Check your answers

01: "A" is the correct answer 02: "D" is the correct answer



Section 1: Study Questions (continued)

- Q3. A fleet station that does not have a licensed inspector employed on staff must...
 - A. Deliver the vehicles without an inspection and call the customers back to the dealership when another licensed inspector is employed
 - B. Cease fleet emissions inspections, notify ADEQ immediately by phone and in writing within 7 days, and return all unused certificates of inspection (COI) within 7 days
 - C. Immediately place an ad in the newspaper and allow another permitted fleet station to inspect the vehicles only until another licensed inspector is employed
 - D. Allow an ASE certified technician to inspect the vehicles and immediately notify ADEQ about the inspector change

Check your answer

Q3: "B" is the correct answer



Section 1: Study Questions (continued)

- Q4. In order to have a permitted fleet station, the owner must:
 - A. Have a space dedicated to inspect/repair at least one vehicle
 - B. Agree to provide data to ADEQ as prescribed by the Director
 - C. Employ a licensed fleet agent and emissions inspector
 - D. All of the above
- Q5. A fleet agent is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the dealer fleet station.

 The guideline with Arizona Rules and Laws pertaining to the operations can be found:
 - A. Online at myAZcar.com or azdeq.gov
 - B. In the Dealer Fleet Station Handbook
 - C. Both A and B
 - D. No such guidelines are available, I just need to call ADEQ

Check your answers

Q4: "D" is the correct answer O5: "C" is the correct answer



Section 2: Types of Dealer Emissions Tests and Equipment Requirements

Area A dealer fleet stations must perform the idle or idle & 2500 rpm unloaded tests on all non-diesel vehicles along with a Tamper Inspection .

To perform a Curb Idle Test you must have:

- A non-dispersive infrared HC & CO analyzer with a water trap in the sampling line capable of taking undiluted samples from the exhaust
- Pressure test equipment for the functional gas cap test
- An ignition-operated tachometer



Section 2: Types of Dealer Emissions Tests and Equipment Requirements

Curb Idle Test:

• All 1967 - 1980 Model Year Vehicles

(This includes all GVWR and alternative fuel vehicles Tamper inspection - 1975 and newer)

Curb Idle with 2,500 RPM Unloaded Tests Tamper Inspection:

• 1981 and newer vehicles (all GVWR and alternative fuel vehicles)

BACK



Section 2: Study Questions

- 1. A Dealer Fleet Station is required to have the following equipment:
 - A. Ignition-operated tachometer, gas cap tester, infrared analyzer
 - B. Opacity meter and dynamometer or in-flight emissions analyzer
 - C. Scan Tool or paper clip
 - D. None of the above
- 2. A 2009 model year constant 4-wheel-drive vehicle must receive the following inspection:
 - A. Curb idle, equipment tampering and gas cap test
 - B. Curb idle, gas cap test and liquid fuel leak check
 - C. Curb idle, 2,500 rpm unloaded, gas cap test and liquid fuel leak check
 - D. Curb idle, 2,500 rpm unloaded, equipment tampering, gas cap test and liquid fuel leak check

Check your answers

Q1: "A" is the correct answer Q2: "D" is the correct answer



Section 3: General Fleet Station Permit Requirements

- The fleet permit, agent and inspector licenses must be prominently displayed within facility.
- Whenever a licensed inspector begins or ends employment with a fleet, the fleet station owner must notify ADEQ in writing within 7 days.
- Written notice can be completed by mail, email or fax (email preferred). Written notice must include:
 - The inspector's name and license number
 - A statement declaring the employment change
 - The effective date of the employment change
- If the fleet's only inspector ends employment at a fleet station, the owner must:
 - 1. Immediately cease operating as a fleet station
 - 2. Immediately notify ADEQ by phone
 - 3. Notify ADEQin writting within 7 days
 - 4. Surrender all unused Certificates of Inspection (COI)



Section 3: General Fleet Station Permit Requirements

When a fleet agent is hired, terminated or resigns, the fleet owner must do the following:

- When a fleet agent is hired, the fleet must notify ADEQ within 7 days of the designation of a new fleet agent and submit a completed "Fleet Agent Designation" form. (The form can be downloaded at myAZcar.com)
- The fleet permit is ONLY applicable to the fleet's inspection facility located at the address on the permit.
- A permitted facility that changes its name or address but keeps the same owner ship is required to return the permit to ADEQ and submit a new permit application.
- ADEQ will cancel the returned permit and issue a new permit with the updated information.



Section 3: General Fleet Station Permit Requirements

You may request a replacement copy of the Fleet Station Permit when:

• The orginal has been lost,* destroyed or mutilated by submitting a letter of explanation

* If the lost Fleet Station Permit document is found, it must be returned to ADEQ

BACK



Section 4: Study Questions (continued)

- Q3. When is a Fleet Inspector required to renew their license?
 - A. Within 30 days before the license expires
 - B. Within 30 days after license expiration
 - C. Within 2 weeks after the end of the month in which the license expires
 - D. Inspector licenses do not expire
- Q4. An emissions inspector is required to notify ADEQ of any change in employment status:
 - A. Within 7 days of such change
 - B. Within 3 days of such change
 - C. Within 2 weeks after the end of the month in which such change occured

Check your answers

Q3: "A" is the correct answer Q4: "A" is the correct answer



Section 3: Study Questions (continued)

- Q3. Which of the following is true for a Fleet Station Permit?
 - A. Allows the fleet to inspect only the types of vehicles authorized by the permit
 - B. Must be prominently displayed at the fleet station along with the inspector(s) license(s)
 - C. Can be suspended or revoked for violations of emissions inspection rules or laws
 - D. All the above

Check your answer

O3: "D" is the correct answer



Section 4: Fleet Agent and Emissions Inspector Licensing

To obtain a Fleet Agent ("A")License, you must:

Pass a required 25-question test

To obtain a Non-Diesel ("CF") Inspector License, you must:

- Pass the Fleet Agent 25-question test
- Pass the Certified Technician 40-question test
- Pass the Non-Diesel Inspector 25-question test

To obtain a Diesel ("FD") Inspector License, you must:

- Pass the Fleet Agent 25-question test
- Pass the Certified Technician 40-question test
- Pass the Diesel Inspector 25-question test

To obtain a Non-Diesel and Diesel ("CFD") Inspector License, you must:

- Pass the Fleet Agent 25-question test
- Pass the Certified Technician 40-question test
- Pass the Non-Diesel Inspector 25-question test
- Pass the Diesel Inspector 25-question test



Section 4: Fleet Agent and Emissions Inspector Licensing

If an applicant fails any Certified Technicain Test, * they must:

• Take the ADEQ Computer Based Training Online Class (CBTC)
before re-testing. (Applicant must bring the online traning certificate o the re-test as proof of completion of CBTC)

To keep your current expiration date as your renewal date, you must:

• Submit an online renewal application within 30 days of your expiration date.

(If the license expires before you submit your renewal application you must re-test. *)

* All tests must be passed within 60 days of the initial test.

New Emissions Inspectors will not receive a license upon passing the written test until:

•The new inspector demonstrates proficiency in the inspection process by performing the emission inspection during an ADEQ inspector audit.

If you fail an inspector proficiency demonstration test, your license may be:

- Suspended
- Revoked
- Refused for renewal



Section 4: Study Questions

- Q1. When does a Fleet Agent License expire?
 - A. Must be renewed biennially (every two years)
 - B. Must be renewed annually (every year) within 30 days prior to expiration
 - C. Must be renewed whenever a violation occurs
 - D. Does not expire
- Q2. If an inspector has allowed their license to expire and continued to inspect vehicles, what can the fleet station do to correct this mistake?
 - A. Voiding the COIs that were completed by unlicensed personnel and then having the vehicles that remain in inventory re-inspected by a licensed inspector.
 - B. Voiding the COIs that were completed by unlicensed personnel and then paying for an official state station emissions inspection when a vehicle has already been delivered to a customer
 - C. Neither of the options above are correct
 - D. Both of the options above are correct

Check your answers

Q1: "B" is the correct answer O2: "D" is the correct answer



Section 4: Study Questions (continued)

- Q3. When is a Fleet Inspector required to renew their license?
 - A. Within 30 days before the license expires
 - B. Within 30 days after license expiration
 - C. Within 2 weeks after the end of the month in which the license expires
 - D. Inspector licenses do not expire
- Q4. An emissions inspector is required to notify ADEQ of any change in employment status:
 - A. Within 7 days of such change
 - B. Within 3 days of such change
 - C. Within 2 weeks after the end of the month in which such change occurred

Check your answers

Q3: "A" is the correct answer Q4: "A" is the correct answer



Section 4: Study Questions (continued)

Q5. When does a fleet vehicle emissions inspector license expire?

- A. Annually (every year)
- **B. Monthly**
- C. Biennially (every two years)
- D. Semi-annually (every six months)

Check your answer

Q5: "A" is the correct answer



Section 5: Fleet Station & Licensed Inspector Auditing

Permitted fleet facilities and inspectors are subject to periodic audits by ADEQ to ensure that emissions inspections and documentation procedures are being followed. An audit may be conducted:

- As circumstances arise for used motor vehicle sales (dealer only) and to remain in compliance with emissions inspection requirements
- At least twice annually for licensed inspector performance
- Monthly for fleet station records, as submitted to ADEQ
- Every 90 Days for Analyzers and/or Opacity Meter



Certificate of Completion

Congratulations on completing this online coarse, you will need to show proof of completion when you take your test.

Please select your desired testing location to obtain a copy of your Certificate of Completion:

Phoenix Testing Center | Download Certificate >

Tucson Testing Center | Download Certificate >