Anzona Department
of Environmental Quality

Water General Permit

ADE INSTRUCTIONS
Notice of Intent (NOI) for a Type 2 Recycled

| INSTRUCTIONS

Every person who applies for a Type 2 Recycled Water General Permit, as provided by Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) Title
18, Chapter 9, Article 7 must file a Notice of Intent to Operate (NOI) required under A.A.C. R18-9-A704(B). A separate NOI form
must be completed for each reclaimed water activity intended to be covered under a general permit. A person intending to operate
under a general permit must comply with all the provisions of the general permit and other applicable requirements of statute and rule.
The NOI shall be filed with the Department by certified mail, in person, or by another method approved by the Department on a form
provided by the Department, along with any required attachments per Section 5 on the NOI.

GENERAL INFORMATION

This Notice of Intent (NOI) is an application to use reclaimed water under A.A.C. R18-9, Article 7, and A.A.C. R18-11, Article 3. A
person holding a Type 2 Recycled Water General Permit for the direct use of reclaimed water is responsible for the correct use of the
reclaimed water as stated in the above-referenced rules. Persons seeking approval of this NOI must:

1. Meet the requirements of Article 7 and the specific terms of the Type 2 General Permit for:

a. Class A+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B704]
b. Class A Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B705]
c. Class B+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B706]
d. Class B Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B707]
e. Class C Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B708]

2. File the NOI form;

3. Please ensure the narrative, site map and any supplemental information provided are comprehensive and adequate to
demonstrate conformance with A.A.C. R18-9-B704 through R18-9-B708.

4. Pay the NON-REFUNDABLE general permit fee (see next section).

5. Satisfy any deficiency requests from the Department.

FEES

The review fee for Type 2 General Permits is:

Class A+, A, B+, B -- $600

Class C -- $750
Payment must accompany this NOI upon submittal to the Department. Review fees, which are flat rate fees specified in A.A.C. R18-
14-110, Table 7, are NON-REFUNDABLE.

SUBMITTAL

Submit two copies of this NOI, supplemental documentation, and the fee to the following address:
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Water Reuse Value Stream
Mail Code 5415B-3
1110 West Washington Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

CONTACT INFORMATION
For questions about this NOI or about the ADEQ reclaimed water rules or standards, contact the ADEQ Water Reuse Value Stream
locally at (602) 771-4999, or (800) 234-5677, extension 771-4999.

If a reuse site is located in a Waters of the U.S., contact the ADEQ Surface Water Section at (602) 771-4689 for further instructions; if
it is determined to be subject to an AZPDES permit, it shall not be regulated under a reclaimed water permit.

PERMIT EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL

ADEQ will send a written Notice of Recording with your permit number and expiration date. The term of the Permit is five years
from the effective date. The permittee shall submit an application for renewal at least 30 days before the expiration date. Type 2
Recycled Water General Permits must be renewed in accordance with A.A.C. R18-9-A705 or they will expire. A Renewal Form may
be accessed at http://www.azdeq.gov/Permits/Listing.
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PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

A permittee using Class A+ or B+ Reclaimed Water shall comply with the following:

1. Maintain records for five years describing the direct reuse site and the total amount of reclaimed water used annually for the
permitted direct reuse activity. The records shall be made available to the Department upon request.

2. Post signs as specified in A.A.C. R18-9-B702(l).

3. Comply with the general requirements in A.A.C. R18-9-B702 for the use of reclaimed water.

A permittee using Class A, B, or C Reclaimed Water shall comply with the following:

1. Maintain records containing the following information for five years and make them available to the Department upon request:
a. The direct use site;
b. The volume of reclaimed water applied monthly for each category of direct reuse activity listed in A.A.C. 18-11, Article 3,
Table A;
c. The total nitrogen concentration of the reclaimed water applied; and
d. The acreage and type of vegetation to which the reclaimed water is applied.

2. Report annually to the Department on or before the anniversary date of the Notice of Intent the following information;
a. The volume of reclaimed water received;
b. The type of reclaimed water application; and
c. Ifused for irrigation, the vegetation and acreage irrigated.
3. Nitrogen Management. A permittee shall ensure that:
a. Impoundments storing reclaimed water allowed by the general permit are lined using a low-hydraulic conductivity artificial or
site-specific liner material achieving a calculated discharge rate less than 550 gallons per acre per day; and
b. The application rates of the reclaimed water are based on one of the following:
i. Ifassigned, the water allotment specified by the Arizona Department of Water Resources;
ii. A water balance that considers consumptive use of water by the crop, turf, or landscape vegetation; or
iii. An alternative method approved by the Department.

4.  Provide a list of impoundments, water depth, freeboard and the liner characteristics and the method chosen from the list in 3.b
above.

5. Post signs or provide notification, or both, as specified in R18-9-B702(1).

R18-9-B702(1) A permittee shall place and maintain signage at locations specified in Table 1 so the public is informed reclaimed water
is in use and no one should drink from the system Table 1. Signage Requirements for Direct Reuse Sites

Reclaimed | Hose Residential Irrigation Schoolground Irrigation | Other Open | Restricted Access Irrigation Mobile
Water Bibbs Access Reclaimed
Class Irrigation Water
Dispersal
A+ A Each Front yard, or all On premises visible to None None On dispersal
bibb at | entrances to a staff and students equipment
valve subdivision if the signage and visible
is supplemented by to the public

written yearly
notification to individual
homeowners by the
homeowner's association.

B+, B Each Direct Reuse Not Direct Reuse Not Direct 1. Ingress points; On dispersal
bibbat | Allowed Allowed Reuse Not | 2. At reasonably spaced intervals of equipment
valve Allowed not more than 1/4 mile, at the reuse | and visible

site or along the open water to the public

conveyance, unless access to
vehicular and pedestrian traffic is
secured; and

3. If applicable, notice on golf score

cards
C Each Direct Reuse Not Direct Reuse Not Direct 1. Ingress points; On dispersal
bibb at | Allowed Allowed Reuse Not | 2. At reasonably spaced intervals of equipment
valve Allowed not more than 1/4 mile, at the reuse | and visible
site or along the open water to the public

conveyance, unless access to
vehicular and pedestrian traffic is
secured; and

3. If applicable, notice on golf score
cards

Note: All impoundments with open access including lakes, ponds, ornamental fountains, waterfalls, and other water features shall be posted with
signs regardless of the class of reclaimed water.

REVISED — JANUARY 2018 1110 WEST WASHINGTON, PHOENIX, AZ 85007 PAGE 2 OF 2
WWW.AZDEQ.GOV




NOTICE OF INTENT (NOI) FOR ATYPE 2
RECYCLED WATER

ADEQ

Arizona Department ~®
of Environmental Quality

GENERAL PERMIT

1. Check the Applicable Box

With Nitrogen Treatment Without Nitrogen Treatment
[] Class A+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B704] [] Class A Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B705]
[] Class B+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B706] [] Class B Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B707]

[] Class C Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-B708]

2. Permittee (End User) (Permittee must sign the Certification of Compliance in #6 on page 2)

Name Phone

Title Email

Name of Company

Address

City State Zip
3. Name of Authorized Contact Person for the Permittee (if applicable)

Name Phone
Title Email

Name of Company
Address

City State Zip

4. Wastewater Treatment Facility or Blending Facility providing reclaimed water

Wastewater Treatment Facility, and Aquifer Protection Permit (APP) Number and issue date (if known):

Name: APP Number: Issue Date:

5. End User/Reuse Site Information

Site Name

Site Address or Location (if the site has not address, describe the
location)

Township, Range, Section, ¥4, Y4, Ya.

Latitude and longitude of the approximate center point. ° ' "N ° ' "W

Describe the reuse activity, including type of vegetation being
irrigated (turf, trees, shrubs, alfalfa, etc.)

Approximate acreage (if applicable)

Estimated annual volume of reclaimed water to be used

A site map showing the location of each reuse site. Please provide as attachment

For Class A, B, or C reclaimed water ONLY:
Nitrogen management for irrigation sites and information on
impoundment liners (see instructions.)
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6. Certification of Compliance (must be signed by the Permittee as identified in #2 above.)

I, (print name)

, certify that this Notice of Intent and all attachments were prepared under my

direction or authorization and all information is, to the best of my knowledge, true, accurate and complete. | am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting false information including permit revocation as well as the possibility of fines and imprisonment
for knowing violations. I also certify that | have read and understand the requirements to use reclaimed water for beneficial purposes
as stated in 18 A.A.C. 9, Articles 6 and 7, and 18 A.A.C. 11, Article 3, and that | shall abide by the terms of these rules. | shall post

signs as specified in A.A.C. R18-9- B702(1).

Signature:

Date:

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1030:

(1) ADEQ shall not base a licensing decision, in
whole or in part, on a requirement or condition not
specifically authorized by statute or rule. General
authority in a statute does not authorize a
requirement or condition unless a rule is made
pursuant to it that specifically authorizes the
requirement or condition.

(2) Prohibited licensing decisions may be challenged
in a private civil action. Relief may be awarded to
the prevailing party against ADEQ, including
reasonable attorney fees, damages, and all fees
associated with the license application.

(3) ADEQ employees may not intentionally or
knowingly violate the requirement for specific
licensing authority. Violation is cause for
disciplinary action or dismissal, pursuant to
ADEQ’s adopted personnel policy. ADEQ
employees are still afforded the immunity in
AR.S. 8§ 12-821.01 and 12-820.02.
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